top of page

Designer Focus - Paul Smith

Paul Smith the legendary, unpretentious yet brilliant British fashion designer is well known for Men's wear but also pretty brilliant at Women's clothing too. Recently I was lucky enough to get a ticket for the 'Friends and Family' warehouse sale, one of my friends works in the Paul Smith graphics department. After a lengthly queue I was in my element surrounded by rails of garments. I will clarify that I am not in the least bit bothered if something is last season, or the season before that.., it is irrelevant to me as long as I like the design, shape, fit, colour etc. And that is the good thing about The Paul Smith Warehouse sale there is a mix of all kinds of things and you never know what you might end find.

Paul Smith stripes are very 'iconic' (the word iconic makes me shudder because it is so over used, but here I am confident it is more that justified in this instance). Everything is simply better quality and a cut above the high street where I typically shop. The Jackets were cut to perfection, the knitwear was strong and being a print obsessive I spied plenty of jazz patterned linings. There were belts in every colour, I tried on a salmon pink belt with a pair of black jeans, I wanted to hate it because it was salmon pink but the shade just worked. I now own a Jazzy jacket, a an equally jazzy cardi, a calmer light teal cardi, a navy jumper, a camel jumper and a teal belt... I could have gone crazy and bought so much more. I am still regretting not getting the classic white shirt, the salmon belt, the mohair jumper from the mens section, the black dress that wasn't in my size...

Currently I am trying to be better with my money, spending £200 at a designer warehouse sale is definitely more of an investment than £100 at fast fashion high street retailer... Well that is my way of justifying it!

No tags yet.
SEARCH BY TAGS:
RECENT POSTS:
bottom of page